Travels in Thailand

 

Bound for Laos

8/11/2010

 
Tonight (Wednesday) I travel to Vientianne, Laos.  The main reason is to do my second and final visa run. Several ex-pats will be tagging along and it promises to be an interesting trip.
 Much to my wife's disgust I have done little to no planning for the trip and I am not real sure what I will be doing there. We do hope to spend some time on the Mekong river, however.
I am a little behind on my posts but hope to make up for it next week.
Wish me luck!
Jim Barker, Sr.
8/11/2010 02:41:08 am

The Mekong River conjures up all kinds of apprehensions as a result from my tour in Viet Nam(1970-1971). Fortunately my location of the advisory team was quite a ways away from the delta area.
It would be interestin to go back and see the changes that have been made. Have fun

Love, Dad

Kathryn
8/11/2010 03:07:55 am

Disgust, really? No, just hope you make it there and back again in one piece. :)

Mom
8/11/2010 06:47:45 am

40 years ago I was here in Tuscaloosa worring about your Dad being shot in Vietnam--now I am still living in Tuscaloosa and I have to worry about you living in the "ladies of the evening" neighborhood, eating things that you have no idea what it is.--- being friendly with lions, tigers, bears, elephants and crocodiles, riding in boats that have a tendency to collapse and now riding up the Mekong River on who knows what. I think that it is time to return home. I have enough grey hair!!!
Love, Mom

John
8/14/2010 08:49:41 am

Have fun Bro!!! Be safe!


Comments are closed.