Travels in Thailand

 

Dim Sum

7/6/2010

 
On Monday I went with the Thai crew went to a Chinese restaurant to eat dim sum. I am not sure exactly how to translate dim sum but it really is a variety of small servings of food. Our lunch included servings of beef, pork, chicken, shrimp, duck, fried tofu, dumplings of various kinds, bread roll thingys stuffed with BBQ – I can’t remember what else. But for dessert we had mango pudding which was actually more like a mango custard – quite tasty. Overall the dim sum was very good and the Thai love duck so that was especially popular.

I should have learned my lesson by now but never ask what something is just prior to popping it in your mouth. I looked at what I thought was some sort of meat dish and thought I would try it. In retrospect it’s claw like appearance should have been my first clue. I bit into it- then stopped.
Picture
Image credit: Rhonda Parkinson

Yes, it was chicken feet (picture at left).  I know there are people in the US who eat it but I have never seen it eaten. It was the only dish I decided not to finish.

After lunch we were delayed by a very heavy rain storm which flooded Soi 33 (where I live and where the restaurant resides). We decided to take a taxi back to the office even though it is a 2 minute walk normally. But given the calf deep water I think it was worth the taxi fare.  We're now in the rainy season and this part of Bangkok (Sukhumvit) is known for its floods.

Kathryn
7/6/2010 05:33:50 am

What's next, spinach in the lasagna? Oh, no!

Rick
7/8/2010 12:18:37 am

I agree with your opinion of the chicken feet. I tried them for the first time about a month ago. We have Chinese friends that love them and I was persuaded... It actually didn't taste too bad, but it wasn't tasty enough to get past the little knuckles that confirmed I really was eating a chicken's toe. Did you have any beef tripe? That's a little rubbery dim sum delicacy that didn't taste too bad, but I wouldn't really recommend it :)


Comments are closed.