Travels in Thailand

 

Hua Hin Again

5/26/2010

 
As I mentioned in my previous blog entry some of the ex-pats and Thai staff decided to escape Bangkok for the weekend and went to the beach at Hua Hin. Some went down on Friday and others, including me, went on Saturday. The group was split between two resorts, both of which were very nice.

Our hotel had a lot of German and other European guests. I know this is a little cheeky coming from an American, but many of the Europeans were quite large and they all seemed to be wearing speedos. In a way you have to admire them. It takes courage to say “I don’t care how fat I am - I’m going to wear a thong”.

I spent some time with Lisa, Vera, and Sonia at the swim up bar drinking delicious margaritas. Afterwards everyone piled into taxis and headed for a seafood restaurant (This was when we saw the “motor cycle gang”). As usual, the food was delicious.

We met up with some friends of Sonia (who is a friend of Lisa’s) and after dinner headed for the night market, It was hot and crowded. But, we found an interesting street side bar. It looked like someone bought a used stand, went to the liquor store, and then set up shop on the streets Hua Hin. Nonetheless, they made an excellent Mai Tai.

Our next stop was a bar near the Hilton and we got there by motorcycle Taxis and by Tuk Tuk. I decided to switch to drinking water, but two of Sonia’s friends were pilots and pilots love Jaegermeister, which they made everyone drink. Next came barefoot dancing, pilot stories, and more Jaegermeister.

Finally, we called it quits and took the last Tuk Tuk for the hotel. All in all it was a lot of fun.    

 
Mom
5/26/2010 10:07:11 am

I am sure that you enjoyed speaking German with the Europeans. Sounds like a fun trip to the beach. We are afraid that our trip to the beach will have to be canceled due to oil spill. Cannot stand the thoughts of seeing such destruction to beach and especially to the wild life sea life. Hopefully and prayerfully it will miss the beach. I wonder how in this world we can stop these disasters.

5/27/2010 03:29:01 am

Post some pics of a Tuk Tuk sometime


Comments are closed.