Travels in Thailand

 

Mid week update

7/21/2010

 
Hello!  It is Wednesday here in Bangkok and we have had two straight days of sunshine after a lot of gray and rainy weather. I should not complain we are, after all, in the rainy season. But the sunshine is a treat.

On the way home from work I picked up some fried chicken from one of the street vendors on Soi 33. I was ravenously hungry and everything on the street was looking tasty – but I thought my safest choice was the fried chicken and 50 Baht bought me two plump, delicious pieces.  In order to balance out my meal I will eat a Granny Smith apple (the ones here are grown in New Zealand).

For various reasons I have lost about 25 pounds since I have been in the BKK. I think there are a couple reasons. First, I eat a lot of local Thai food and it is not very fattening, second I don’t keep snacks in my apartment so after dinner I have no more caloric intake. Another thing is that the portions of Thai food in restaurants are smaller than in the US.

On a final note, I have less than two months left here in Bangkok. I have some excursions planned and hope to make the best of the time I have left in SEA. This weekend, I believe I will be visiting a coconut farm and floating market with Tuk and friends. The following weekend it will be back to Hua Hin and then around mid-August I hope to make a trek to Laos. At work, I start the next six week programmer bootcamp, so that should keep me busy as well.

 
Kathryn
7/22/2010 10:15:45 am

Glad you're enjoying some sunshine. We have lots of sun and heat and humidity these days. Not enjoying it much, though.


Comments are closed.