Travels in Thailand

 
 
On the way home from work today I decided to take some pictures of my street (Soi 33 / Sukhumvit) to give you a taste of my little world.  It’s hard for me not to sing Mr. Rogers’s “It’s a Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood” as I pass the sights, sounds, and smells of Soi 33. Now that I think of it, maybe I should  walk up to one of the prostitutes and ask “Won’t you be my neighbor?”

Inevitably, my daily walk home takes me past my favorite watering hole in the whole world – Coyote’s. Usually, I can count on someone from the office already being there. And, today was no exception as I saw Jon, Lisa, and Wayne in the bar. Of course, I stopped in for a cold one. We spent about 30 minutes planning our trip to Laos in August (more on that in a future post) and then I headed home.

I needed to eat and have found a new, tasty, and cheap place. Basically, it's a street vendor who sells Pad Thai for about 40 Baht a plate ($1.30). I started taking pictures but given my slightly inebriated state (thanks to Coyote’s) the quality is not all that good. Nonetheless, I tried to get the essence of what I see every day.

 Ok, on a serious note, one of the pictures you may find slightly disturbing – but please NO JUDGEMENT – people have to make a living. Plus, the really strange stuff does not come out till after dark.

So, I've captioned the pictures. If you have any questions about my home neighborhood feel free to ask. If I can answer them without any repercussions, I will be happy to do so.
Angeline
7/13/2010 06:00:51 am

Hey Jim,
Enjoyed the walk around your neighborhood.

Kathryn
7/13/2010 11:51:49 am

Love the post. Now I can picture you ambling down your alley on your way home, slightly inebriated from a stop at Coyotes and full of Pad Thai.

Also, if you see an elephant in your neighborhood, don't feed it. There's now a 10,000 baht ($310) fine for elephant feeding in Bangkok. (You can still feed them other places).

Mom
7/14/2010 04:47:23 am

nice little walk--very interesting! I think you should go for the expensive sometimes--Will probably be whole different experience.
I heard about the elephants also. What else in in Bangkok? I just cannot imagine an elephant walking down the street (are they pink?). Fun place!!


Comments are closed.