Travels in Thailand

 
 
There has been some political unrest in Thailand and especially Bangkok over the last two or three weeks. This past Wednesday the government declared a state of emergency and essentially the military is now in charge.

Having said that, it has been a pretty calm "state of emergency" .  I have noticed an increasesed presence of military and police personnel, but I have not seen any confrontations at all. The government seems to be trying very hard to avoid and or prevent violence.

The protesters, called the "Red Shirts", seem to be only interested in political change here. I have actually seen a lot of "red shirts" now and it feels more like they are going to a soccer match than a protest. I walked down Sukhumvit road today and saw a caravan of them - honking horns and waving.

I feel safe and even went to get a Thai massage near my office - it was great!
Lisa
4/10/2010 08:03:10 am

Jim,
I heard you went to Bangkok from Billy. What an amazing adventure! Seriously. He also forwarded your link to me and I love reading your notes. Your sense of humor is, as always, entertaining!!! Keep telling your stories. They're great!
If you need anything from Kansas City, let me know.
Lisa G.

Mom
4/12/2010 04:00:16 am

You just stay in your room!!!


Comments are closed.