Travels in Thailand

 
 
Last night was the first night of the government imposed curfew - 8:00 PM till 6:00 AM. Tonight they have eased it a bit and it will be 9:00 PM to 5:00 AM.  It’s strange to think I could be arrested simply for stepping outside for a walk, but that is my reality at the moment. I believe the last night of the curfew will be this Saturday - I hope.

It seems there was much less violence in the city today and I could not see any fires. But, I don’t think we are out of the woods yet. I was actually able to walk around a bit today, it was quiet but about half of the shops were closed.My life feels like it is on hold and my world is about five blocks big in any direction. Not having a functioning public transportation system means walking everywhere. I could use a taxi but you can’t predict if they will be willing to take you where you want to go or if you can find a return fare.

Fortunately, everything I need is within my little world. We keep waiting for the political situation to resolve itself but it just drags on.My spirits are good and I can’t really complain.  I am actually in a good situation and my fellow ex-pats are very friendly and supportive. I will be glad to get back to work, hopefully very soon.  Despite the problems I am happy to be here and grateful for this fascinating experience.

Comments are closed.