Travels in Thailand

 
 
Well let’s see...

I went to an Anglican church service here in Bangkok today (Sunday July 18th) – Christ Church is the name and it resides on Convent Road in the Silom district. It was very nice and the service would be very familiar to any Episcopalian. The vicar is from England (not surprisingly) and I think the Queen of England actually visited the church a decade or two ago.  I might try and go back next week.

On another note, a week ago as I was wandering the streets of Bangkok I saw a Buddhist monk walk up to a street food vendor pull a cigarette out of his robe and ask for a light.  If I had been a little more alert I would have asked if he wanted to go get a beer.  I must admit though, while I have seen quite a few monks since I have been here I have never seen one drinking alcohol. Smoking among monks is actually a topic of some discussion:
The Smoking Monk.

And finally, a while back I mentioned that the students will sometimes wear slippers in the classroom. Just for fun I have included some photos. Just so you know, they do maintain a sense of decorum and put their normal shoes on when walking about the office. Evidently slipper-wearing occurs at many Bangkok offices, here's another farang blog post on the same topic.
Angeline
7/18/2010 05:10:10 am

Enjoyed reading about the church. Is this the original building built in the early 1900's?
Also the photos of the "informal" foot-
wear in the office.

Mom
7/19/2010 04:42:25 am

Beautiful church. Are you permited to take pictures inside? I would love to see it
You are doing a great job with all
of these wonderful photos. Your blogs are very informative and humorous. Keep it up.


Comments are closed.